The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the SC Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

By Brian Park

In its final meeting of the year, the Capistrano Unified School District Board of Trustees welcomed back trustees John Alpay and Gary Pritchard to the dais and officially swore in new trustees Amy Hanacek and Jim Reardon on Monday, December 10.
Alpay, who won his re-election bid in Area 3, which covers San Clemente, was elected board president by a 5-1 vote, with Reardon abstaining. Reardon initially nominated trustee Lynn Hatton for the position, which was supported by trustee Ellen Addonizio’s vote. However, when the vote came to Hatton, she elected to support Alpay.
Hatton was later unanimously elected as vice president of the board. Trustee Anna Bryson was unanimously elected as clerk.
The reorganization of the board comes off what many voters and trustees called a difficult and contentious election season.
The next regular board meeting will take place January 7.
To listen to audio from the meeting, visit –

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Staff

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>