SC_144By Eric Heinz

After six candidates filed nomination papers, five candidates provided signatures that qualified them for the ballot.

The candidates are current Mayor Robert “Bob” Baker, Dan Bane, Pamela Joy Glass, current Councilman Chris Hamm and Steve Swartz.

Mikii Rathmann filed nomination papers but did not receive sufficient signatures to qualify, according to the San Clemente Clerk’s Office.

Mark Taylor is the lone qualified candidate running for City Treasurer and Joanne Baade is the only candidate for City Clerk. Both already hold their respective positions.

Also on the ballot is a measure to increase San Clemente’s lodging tax from 10 percent to 13 percent of each night’s cost to rent a room at all lodging facilities.

Election Day for the 2016 general election is Nov. 8. Polls will open that day at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. People must be registered to vote in the San Clemente election online or by postmark by Oct. 24. The vote-by-mail ballot requests must be received by the Orange County Registrar of Voters by Nov. 1.

About The Author Staff

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>