The San Clemente Area Republican Women Federated recently hosted its monthly luncheon, where it featured several of the Republican candidates running for office in this year’s elections.

At the group’s Jan. 8 luncheon, San Juan Capistrano Councilmember Brian Maryott, who is campaigning to unseat Democratic incumbent Rep. Mike Levin for the 49th Congressional District, was among a slew of other local officials who are also currently seeking either reelection or higher office.

The group of candidates also included Mission Viejo Councilmember Greg Raths, Laguna Hills Councilmember Don Sedgwick, Yorba Linda Councilmember Peggy Huang and special education teacher Rhonda Furin. Those four are challenging Democratic incumbent Rep. Katie Porter for the 45th Congressional seat.

Laguna Niguel Mayor Laurie Davies and Mission Viejo Councilmember Ed Sachs, who are vying for State Assemblymember Bill Brough’s seat in the state’s 73rd Assembly District, also attended the luncheon.

Each of the candidates made a presentation as to why he or she should be voted into office. Following the presentations, each candidate participated in a Q&A session.

Next month, the SCARWF will feature more 2020 Republican candidates at its luncheon.

About The Author Staff

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>