The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the SC Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.

San Clemente-based big wave surfer Greg Long wins Billabong XXL Ride of the Year Award

Greg Long of San Clemente takes his place at the podium to accept his $50,000 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Ride of the Year. Photo: Andrea Swayne
Greg Long of San Clemente takes his place at the podium to accept his $50,000 Billabong XXL Big Wave Awards Ride of the Year. Photo: Andrea Swayne

By Andrea Swayne

One of the winningest surfers in the sport, Greg Long, from San Clemente, added another top honor to his resume May 2 at the annual Billabong XXL Global Big Wave Awards.

The evening’s biggest prize, the $50,000 Ride of the Year award, is saved for last, excitement building with the showing of videos of the five nominated surfers’ rides interspersed between the other presentations.

Long, last year’s Big Wave World Tour champion who early in the evening handed over that title to friend and fellow big wave star Grant “Twiggy” Baker of South Africa, returned to the stage with the other four Ride of the Year nominees.

Long took the top prize for paddling into a massive wave at Puerto Escondido. Hawaiian Shawn Walsh, Baker, and Hawaiians Shane Dorian and Billy Kemper came in second through fifth, respectively.

“I am happier than ever just to be here. At the end of the year getting together with everyone, whether you win or you don’t, everyone is all smiles and enjoying it,” Long said. “That’s what it’s all about—celebrating our friendship, respect, camaraderie and being part of such a beautiful sport.”

The XXLs, often referred to as the Grammy Awards of surfing, draws hundreds of surf industry folks, surfing enthusiasts, as well as every level of athletes, from unsponsored groms to big name professional surfers. It has the reputation as one of the biggest and best parties of the year for the surf industry as it celebrates the men and women who dare to test their mettle against the world’s largest and most daunting waves.

Anastasia Ashley, a pro surfer from San Clemente who was nominated last year, was on hand to present the award for Wipeout of the Year. That award went to Hawaii’s Koa Rothman who also won Best Tube of the Year honors.

“I’m really excited to be presenting an award tonight. I’ll admit I’m a little bummed I didn’t get nominated, but I didn’t really get any good swells this year,” Ashley said. “It’s such an honor. This is the funnest night in surfing. Last year I was nominated and I hope to be back next year.”

Also nominated for an award this year was former Dana Point resident Bianca Valenti who was up for a Women’s Best Performance Award.

As usual, Long said he doesn’t plan to rest on his laurels and is ready to get the new season going as soon as Mother Nature cooperates.

“We’re now waiting for the southern hemisphere winter to get underway. We’ve got Chile, Peru and Dungeons, the South Africa contest all on hold. And obviously I’m looking forward to my other favorite waves—Fiji, Puerto Escondido. The more big waves we can get out there and surf, the more fun. I am really looking forward to it.”


XXL RIDE OF THE YEAR: Greg Long – Puerto Escondido

PADDLE IN AWARD: Mark Healey – Jaws

BIGGEST WAVE AWARD: Gautier Garanx – Belharra

TUBE AWARD WINNER: Koa Rothman – Teahupoo





This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Trustworthy, accurate and reliable local news stories are more important now than ever. Support our newsroom by making a contribution and becoming a subscribing member today.

About The Author Staff

comments (0)

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>