SUPPORT THIS INDEPENDENT JOURNALISM
The article you’re about to read is from our reporters doing their important work — investigating, researching, and writing their stories. We want to provide informative and inspirational stories that connect you to the people, issues and opportunities within our community. Journalism requires lots of resources. Today, our business model has been interrupted by the pandemic; the vast majority of our advertisers’ businesses have been impacted. That’s why the SC Times is now turning to you for financial support. Learn more about our new Insider’s program here. Thank you.
San Clemente Times
Some of California’s new state laws are likely to affect San Clementeans, and many are enforceable now.
A few of the key laws included:
- Minimum wage increases from $11 to $12 for businesses with 26 or more employees and from $10.50 to $11 for businesses with fewer than 25.
- Criminal penalties for sidewalk vending are now abolished, but cities can still regulate the vendors.
- Employers must now provide available space for mothers to breastfeed their children at work.
- People must request single-use straws at restaurants.
- Employees who report sexual harassment now have protections in place from liability or for defamation of the people they accuse. Employers may also indicate during reference checks whether someone had been determined to engage in sexual harassment.
- All dogs, cats and rabbits must now be purchased from a pet store, shelter or rescue group. Retail pet stores in California will only be able to sell kittens, rabbits, and puppies if they come from a rescue organization.
- Repeated DUI offenders will be required to use an interlock ignition system statewide.
Find out more about some of the new labor laws in place by visiting www.callaborlaw.com.
Photo: Courtesy of Rafał Konieczny/Wikimedia Commons